Board changes at Ofcom

Ofcom has announced the appointment of Norman Blackwell as a new non-executive board member for a three year term commencing on 1 September 2009. The vacancy was created when David Currie stepped down as chairman of Ofcom in March 2009.

Ofcom has also announced that Millie Banerjee has been re-appointed as a non-executive board member until 30 June 2011.
These appointments were made by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport and by the Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Lord Blackwell is a former partner of McKinsey & Company and head of the Prime Minister’s Policy Unit from 1995 to 1997. He was appointed a life peer in 1997. He is chairman of Interserve and the senior independent director at Standard Life and Segro. Previous business roles have included director of group development at NatWest Group, non-executive director of Dixons Group and an adviser to KPMG. He is a board member of the Centre for Policy Studies and the Office of Fair Trading.

Ofcom chairman Colette Bowe said: “I am extremely pleased that the board will be strengthened by someone of Lord Blackwell’s business experience and intellectual stature. He will be a significant asset to Ofcom. I am also delighted that Millie Banerjee has agreed to stay on the board for an extended period; Millie has been with Ofcom since its formation and continues to be a valuable and important contributor to Ofcom’s Board and decision making.’

The following two tabs change content below.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Nam dignissim magna vitae dui posuere eu feugiat augue eleifend. Fusce sed tincidunt quam. Donec varius aliquam metus ut semper. Donec augue purus, feugiat interdum malesuada vel, aliquet quis massa. Nulla facilisi. Nam vel ante quam, et tincidunt dui. Maecenas venenatis libero eu nulla tincidunt et accumsan velit sodales. Nam congue mauris et felis porttitor blandit. Nam eget tempor massa. Nullam suscipit gravida eros, ac suscipit magna feugiat sit amet.

Latest posts by admin (see all)