Nokia annnounces new structure off back of Microsoft Phone deal

On the back of last week’s announcement that Nokia is taking on Windows Phone as its primary operating system, the handset manufacturer has announced a restructure of its divisions and leadership to support its new direction.

As of 1 April, Nokia will have a new company structure, which features two distinct business units: Smart Devices; and Mobile Phones. They will focus on Nokia’s key business areas, of high end smartphones and mass market mobile phones, respectively.

Smart Devices will be responsible for building Nokia’s leadership in smartphones and will be led by Jo Harlow. The following sub-units now in Mobile Solutions will move under Smart Devices: Symbian Smartphones; MeeGo Computers; Strategic Business Operations.

To support the planned new partnership with Microsoft, Smart Devices will be responsible for creating a winning Windows Phone portfolio.

Mobile Phones will drive Nokia’s ‘web for the next billion’ strategy. Mobile Phones will use its strength in growth markets to connect the next billion people and bring them affordable access to the internet and applications. The Mobile Phones unit will be led by Mary McDowell.

Each unit will have profit and loss responsibility and end to end accountability for the full consumer experience, including product development, product management and product marketing.

Effective as of today, Nokia has a new leadership team with the commitment, competencies and innovative thinking needed in today’s dynamic environment, it claimed.

The Nokia Leadership Team, previously the Group Executive Board, will consist of the following members: Stephen Elop; Esko Aho; Juha Akras; Jerri DeVard; Colin Giles; Rich Green; Jo Harlow; Timo Ihamuotila; Mary McDowell; Kai Oistamo; Tero Ojanpera; Louise Pentland; and Niklas Savander.

Alberto Torres has stepped down from the management team, effective February 10 to pursue other interests outside the company.

The following two tabs change content below.


Latest posts by admin (see all)