Ofcom Announce Board Changes

Colette Bowe and Tim Gardam have joined the Board of Ofcom as Non-Executive Directors from 1 January 2008 for three-year terms and that, as planned, Sara Nathan, has stepped down from the Board on 31 December 2007.

Colette Bowe has been the Chairman of Ofcom’s Consumer Panel since its inception in 2003; she had previously announced her intention to step down from this role and she will now do so with immediate effect.

Colette trained as an economist and has held a number of senior roles in the public sector; she began her career at the Department of Trade and Industry and subsequently worked at the Independent Broadcasting Authority, the Securities and Investment Board and as Chief Executive of the Personal Investment Authority. Colette is currently a Board Member of Axa Framlington, Morgan Stanley Bank International, Electra Private Equity and Goldfish Bank; she is also a Member of the Statistics Commission and is Chairman of Council at Queen Mary College, London.

Tim Gardam has been the Principal of St Anne’s College, Oxford since 2004. Tim had a 25 year career in broadcasting starting at the BBC where he was editor of Panorama and Newsnight before becoming Head of Current Affairs and Weekly News. He was a part of the first senior management team at Five and was Director of Programmes at Channel Four. He was the author of the DCMS Review of BBC Digital Radio Services in 2004, a member of Lord Burns’ Advisory Panel on the BBC Charter Review and a Director of SMG plc from 2005-7.

Sara Nathan was one of the founding members of the Ofcom Board in 2002 and having served two terms on the Board has retired at the end of 2007.

Ofcom Chairman David Currie said, “I am delighted to able to welcome two people of such distinction with significant skills and experience relevant to Ofcom’s work. Colette has already made an enormous contribution to Ofcom through her consumer work and Tim is a vastly experienced broadcaster with knowledge of both the BBC and the commercial sector. I know that Colette and Tim will both be valued members of our Board.”

The following two tabs change content below.


Latest posts by admin (see all)