Openreach adds 86 exchanges to its stop-sell programme

Openreach has announced a further 86 exchange locations across the UK where it is planning to stop selling legacy copper services. These exchanges are located throughout England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, including in Cardiff, Edinburgh and County Londonderry.

The 86 locations cover around 500,000 premises and the company is providing 12 months’ notice so it will stop selling copper services in these exchanges on 2 August 2022.

This brings the total number of exchange locations where Openreach plans to stop selling legacy analogue services to 379, covering a total of 3.4m premises. In these stop-sell locations, some customers may be exempt from moving at the moment if they are subject to special exceptions. Exceptions can include vulnerable customers and critical equipment users.

James Lilley, director managed customer migrations, Openreach, explained, “Just over two years from now, Openreach will stop selling products that rely on the public switched telephone network. And over the next five years, we’ll upgrade some 14 million analogue lines – including the now ageing traditional landline telephone service – to digital all-internet protocol.

“Ultimately, the plan is to withdraw all services that rely on the old PSTN by December 2025 and, from that point on, Communications Providers (CPs) will own the delivery of voice services. This is a really big deal for our industry , we are upgrading the UK’s digital infrastructure as we build our full fibre network to 25m homes and business by 2026.”

Openreach is also adapting its existing copper network to cope with IP based voice traffic. This helps to start the transition before FTTP networks are fully available, with available products including SoGEA and SoGfast.

The full list of 86 additional exchanges is below.


Sl. No. Exchange name Exchange location Exchange code
298 Aberdare Aberdare SWAA
299 Alva Alva ESALV
300 Alvaston Ce Fibre Cities – Derby EMALVAS
301 Ardglass Ardglass NIAR
302 Ballyronan Ballyronan NIBRN
303 Barnoldswick Barnoldswick LCBAN
304 Beamish Beamish NEBEA
305 Bellaghy Bellaghy NIBY
306 Bexleyheath Ce Fibre Cities – London LSBEX
307 Bidford On Avon Bidford On Avon CMBIDF
308 Borough Green Borough Green NDBGR
309 Brighton Portslade Ce Fibre Cities – Brighton And Hove SDPRTSL
310 Brinscall Brinscall LCBRI
311 Brixham Brixham WWBRIX
312 Caister Caister EACAI
313 Cardiff Ce Fibre Cities – Cardiff SWCFATE
314 Carmarthen Carmarthen SWCT
315 Castleford Ce Fibre Cities – Leeds MYCAS
316 Castlerock Castlerock NICLK
317 Cheddar Cheddar SSCDR
318 Coalisland Coalisland NICI
319 Codicote Codicote SMCI
320 Cogenhoe Ce Fibre Cities – Northampton EMCOGEN
321 Coleshill Coleshill CMCOLE
322 Cumnock Cumnock WSCMN
323 Cushendall Cushendall NICUS
324 Denbigh Denbigh WNDEN
325 Dereham Dereham EADER
326 Downham Market Downham Market EADNM
327 Drighlington Ce Fibre Cities – Leeds MYDLT
328 Dromore (Co Down) Dromore NIDO
329 Dungiven Dungiven NIDV
330 Earls Barton Ce Fibre Cities – Northampton EMEARLS
331 Edinburgh Kirklist Ce Fibre Cities – Edinburgh ESKRL
332 Eglinton Ni Fibre Cities – Derry-Londonderry NIEG
333 Elmsted Ashford NDELM
334 Flint Flint WNFL
335 Forkhill Forkhill NIFH
336 Frodsham Frodsham LVFRO
337 Gilford Gilford NIGF
338 Gillingham Gillingham STGILGM
339 Glenborrodale Glenborrodale NSGBD
340 Glenmazeran Glenmazeran NSGMZ
341 Great Eccleston Great Eccleston LCGRC
342 Greyabbey Greyabbey NIGY
343 Halfway CE Fibre Cities – Glasgow WSHAL
344 Helens Bay Ni Fibre Cities – Newtownards & Bangor NIHB
345 Helsby Ce Fibre Cities – Wirral LVHEL
346 Holywell Holywell WNHW
347 Hooton Ce Fibre Cities – Wirral LVHOO
348 Hullbridge Hullbridge EAHUL
349 James Bridge Ce Fibre Cities – Birmingham CMJAM
350 Kelty Kelty ESKLY
351 Keynsham Ce Fibre Cities – Bristol SSKEY
352 Kilkeel Kilkeel NIKI
353 Killyleagh Killyleagh NIKYL
354 Kincardine Kincardine ESKCA
355 Lennoxtown Lennoxtown WSLEX
356 Limavady Ni Fibre Cities – Limavady NILY
357 Ludlow Ludlow WNLUD
358 Lymm Lymm LVLYM
359 Lytham Lytham LCLYT
360 Machrie East Ayreshire WSMAC
361 Maghull Ce Fibre Cities – West Lancashire LVMAG
362 Meltham Ce Fibre Cities – Bradford MYMTH
363 Middlewich Middlewich MRMDW
364 Millisle Millisle NIME
365 Minster Sheppey Minster Sheppey NDMSH
366 Moira Maghaberry NIMR
367 Mostyn Mostyn WNMOS
368 Newcastle Staffs Ce Fibre Cities – Newcastle Under Lyme WMNEW
369 Pontardulais Pontardulais SWPDW
370 Poulton Le Fylde Poulton-Le-Fylde LCPOU
371 Saintfield Ni Fibre Cities – Saintfield NISD
372 Scarista Isle Of Harris NSSST
373 Shiphay Collaton Ce Fibre Cities – Torquay WWSHIP
374 South Elmsall South Elmsall MYSEM
375 South Queensferry South Queensferry ESQUE
376 Stewarton Ce Fibre Cities – Ayrshire WSSTW
377 Stratton On The Fosse Stratton On The Fosse SSSOF
378 Stratton St Margar Ce Fibre Cities – Swindon SSSSM
379 Sunbury On Thames Ce Fibre Cities – Sunbury LSSUN
380 Waringstown Donaghcloney NIWT
381 Whalley Whalley LCWHA
382 Withernsea Withernsea MYWIT
383 Worthing Central Ce Fibre Cities – Worthing SDWCNTR



The following two tabs change content below.

Charlotte Hathway

Charlotte is the editor of Comms Business and writes about the latest technology innovations and business developments across the Channel. Got a story? Get in touch –

Latest posts by Charlotte Hathway (see all)