MLL Telecom announces the Young Telecoms Engineer of the Year competition

MLL Telecom has announced the first ‘Young Telecoms Engineer of the Year’ Award programme.

The competition, the first of its kind in the UK, is open to final year student members of the IET. Entrants are asked to propose an innovative solution to a telecoms challenge; this might be the delivery of a new end-user service or solving specific challenges in delivering telecoms networks.

The shortlist of finalists will be invited to present their solutions to a panel of judges next April. The judging panel will include senior figures from the telecoms industry and be chaired by Sir Bryan Carsberg, chairman of the council at Loughborough University and inaugural head of Oftel.

“The Telecoms industry is central to the future success of the UK economy. It is vital that companies continue to invest in engineering resources to help sustain the development of new technologies, products and services. Companies that support new graduates coming into the industry, not only help themselves to remain competitive, but also contribute to the success of the industry and the UK economy as a whole,” said Sir Carsberg.

Stuart Borgman, Chief Technical Officer, MLL Telecom, added: “The telecoms industry depends upon innovation to continue to grow. MLL Telecom is always looking at ways in which we can take a fresh look at network design and innovation. The way to ensure this is to help stimulate the best engineering talent. The Young Telecoms Engineer of the Year programme allows us to connect highly talented young people to industry experts and help graduates with great technical skills to apply their knowledge to real-world problems and communicate them to a business audience,” he continued.

The competition is launched this month. Entrants are asked to submit applications by downloading an entry form from the website. The competition winner will receive an offer of employment with MLL Telecom.

The following two tabs change content below.


Latest posts by admin (see all)