New Appointments to Phonepayplus Board

PhonepayPlus, the phone-paid services regulator, today appointed Matti Alderson, Ruth Evans, Andrew Flanagan and Jeremy Hallsworth as non-executive Board members, effective 1 September 2008. George Kidd, Chief Executive of PhonepayPlus, also joins as an executive member, effective immediately.

The appointments are in line with PhonepayPlus’ intention, first announced in March 2007 and ratified by Ofcom earlier this year, to create a smaller Board focused on strategic direction, policy-making and supervising the work of the PhonepayPlus Executive.

The selection process was managed by a Panel comprising the PhonepayPlus Chairman, an outgoing Board member, a senior executive from Ofcom and an independent assessor. The appointments replace outgoing Board members Ed Boddington, Nicholas Higham, Sara Nathan, Mike Short and Mike Tully who will step down at the end of August.

“I am delighted that we were able to attract individuals of the calibre of Matti, Ruth, Andrew and Jeremy to the Board. PhonepayPlus stands to benefit enormously from their experience and professionalism,” said Sir Alistair Graham, Chairman of PhonepayPlus.

“At the same time, I would like to thank Ed, Nick, Sara and Mikes Short and Tully who have each served with distinction and dedication. They can be rightly proud of their efforts to pre-empt and prevent problems in the phone-paid services market and to protect consumers,” he concluded.

The following two tabs change content below.


Latest posts by admin (see all)